If Xzar were to have a romance...

Ankhesenpaaten

If Xzar were to have a romance, how would a writer begin? Do you have to know all of his ingame statements intimately and then just do your level best to capture his personality and intelligence and mix it with (if I am correct in my assessment of him) how one deals with persons with multiple-personality? And of course how the person with the disorder functions?

I don't know that I would have the remotest capability of creating any sort of mod at all, but I can write, somewhat, and have written a lot of fanfiction on Fanfiction dot net that has been received well, tho not in the BG Universe.

So as a writer, I'm not top notch, but I'm not bad. I do pretty well, well enough to perhaps try my hand at how a mod writer would go about writing for a NPC and attempting to expand on him and hopefully not stray too far from his character.

I know people will likely be very biased against the idea, but no worries; I doubt I can ever pull this off. However, even for myself and practice at writing, I'd like to give it a shot.

Writing stories is vastly different than writing for a mod, I'm guessing. How do modders start?

I mean, I know Kulyok has tutotials somewhere, and I have seen some of her Branwen notes, but so far that is for coding. For now I wonder how a writer begins with a pre-existing character? What sort of mental exercises do they do? Where do they really begin?

I hope this makes sense and isn't in the wrong place. I've always wanted to ask and I'll probaly regret it the moment I hit the "post new topic" button. Still, I hope to be forgiven, if not understood. :)