Confusion over Katana and Bastard Swords

Storm Rider

I installed the component in the Tweak Pack that updates all katana and bastard swords to need two hands to use. I also selected the option to update all the text. As far as I know the installation was successful (it didn't say otherwise in the log files) but I don't think it has worked properly. If I right-click on the katana that my main character has, the text says it requires one hand. I can also equip a shield. As I am still learning how to play the game, I decided to click on Use Item in the main game screen and saw the katana there. I clicked on that and heard a noise as if magic had been cast. The weapon disappeard from the quick weapon slot and only fists were available. I checked my character's inventory and the katana was still there but in the backpack area. Once trying to put it back in his hand, the game said it wasn't possible as it was a two handed weapon. I had to remove the shield to let him equip it. The text still said one handed, however.

The weird thing was it didn't stay that way. I equipped another sword and then put the katana back in. Once again it was one handed and I could fit a shield.

I'm not sure what the Tweak Pack component actually does now but for my initial character skills I decided on choosing one handed and two handed weapon skills because I wasn't sure how many hands katana need (in the game). Ideally I don't want my character to use shields at all as I would like him to be able to parry and block (to a certain extent) with just the katana. After all, medieval samurai only carried the sword.