Item creation?

Epantiras

(I hope I'm posting in the right forum; if I am not, I apologize!)

I'm still learning to mod so treat me as a newbie v_v I've read some tutorials but I still cannot find an answer to some questions...

I've used Near Infinity to check some BG2 items that can be equipped only by a specific character, for example Haer'Dalis swords or Yoshimo's katana but I haven't understood how to prevent another character of the same race and class to use that item.

My second question is about equipped item animations. Is it possible to restore the old BG1 animations, like rectangular shields and helmets with those big wings? I mean the graphic that appear on the character 'sprite', not the inventory icon; for example WPLH4A1 WPLH4A2 WPLH4A3 etc? Which tool do I need to edit an item and change its animation?

I've used Near Infinity to check some BG2 items that can be equipped only by a specific character, for example Haer'Dalis swords or Yoshimo's katana but I haven't understood how to prevent another character of the same race and class to use that item.

That's generally done by setting stat and race restrictions equal to the NPCs stats. Set all of minimum CON/DEX/INT, etc. (I don't use Near Infinity, so I don't know exactly where to point you. DLTCEP might be better for looking at and making items.)

My second question is about equipped item animations. Is it possible to restore the old BG1 animations, like rectangular shields and helmets with those big wings? I mean the graphic that appear on the character 'sprite', not the inventory icon; for example WPLH4A1 WPLH4A2 WPLH4A3 etc? Which tool do I need to edit an item and change its animation?

Yes, but it's a lot of work. Have a look at the One Pixel Productions forum over at Spellhold Studios, that's the only mod doing that sort of thing that I know of.

And of course: Welcome! Any fun mod you're making that you want to tell us about? :)