Wow... this is really hard. Where do I level?

bholland

Hi everyone,

So I have been playing with quite a few of the harder mods installed like mage pre buffing (which only seems fair considering) and obviously the improved fights, mages, and priests. My party is mostly 10 and 11 and I cannot figure out where to level. It seems like most fights involve multiple mages which obliterate me because I don't have ruby ray yet or even worse, a lich. I cannot figure out which quests to finish to get to level 18 when I can finally get spell strike.

There have been several reloads where I get a party wipe from a single yun-ti mage because I can only cast 2 chaotic commands (with arie) and I can't target due to invisibility and I can't hit him because his stone skin in insanely powerful and then he recasts. So basically, my guys are off killing each other while the mage casts horrid wilting slaughtering my guys. I have been playing this game for 10 years and I have never found it this impossible and I know that this will all be doable once my party gets to be around 18 or 20 but until that point, I have literally no idea what I can possibly do without running into bands of mages or liches. Any suggestions would be most welcome.

BTW, this mod is awesome. I have never been so frustrated with BG2. I find fights with multiple mages impossible though but 1 or 2 are excellent at my current level. There have actually been fights where I will kill everything except a mage which is unharmed and I can't touch them. Those fights I do wonder if mages with this mod are a tiny bit too strong or perhaps everything else is just not quite strong enough. Either that or I am just fighting level 18's or 20's with a party of level 10's.

Thanks!

One way to understand it is that vanilla Mage scripting is pretty weak, so the baseline game compensates by making wizards high level. When SCS comes along and makes wizards halfway competent, you really feel their level advantage.