Optimization idea for weidu/weinstall (sqlite3 or some index, vs file read/iteration)

I notice a LOT of tp2 files (or tpa I guess) have actions that read every file in override/ of some type (cre, itm, spl etc.) looking for files that "match" based on some criteria.

This can be pretty bad when a heavy install is present, and a mod wants to find every troll to apply some patch/update, yet iterates (and opens) 15,000+ .cre files, when there may be less than 50 troll files.

Imagine if as mods added spells (ADD_SPELL) or wrote to the override directory, an indexing program would go through override/, and add each file (and it's various queryable params) into an sqlite3 .db (or some home grown db system).

Then, in a single query, one could ask weidu "give me all troll overrides", and get that list in a fraction of a second, vs taking potentially 1+ minutes to go through each.

Has this ever been considered?  (I'm guessing yes, but I'm new to the scene, and the install/uninstall cycle is so inefficient)

It would require all tools (not just WeiDU but also NearInfinity) to maintain a lot of arbitrary databases for external info to cover most of these filtering, which would need to be generated atleast during the first launch of WeiDU which would make everyone suffer compared to megamod installations being slower. I'd rather have longer install times than trying and failing to come up with an universal database duplicating out the entire game for faster queries.

There's also a common (inefficient) pattern used a lot, which makes sense from ease of implementation and configuration (and probably the undo mechanisms), that is a lack of batching patch updates.

What happens a lot, is something like this:

1. Do you want to add Xyz to all of X type items? (if [y] proceed to iterate+patch all files in the set)

2. Do you want to add Abc to all of X type items? (if [y] proceed to iterate+patch all files in the set)