Modding basics for programmers?

Taylan

Heya, I'd really like being able to dig into game files a bit, and check out the code of mods I install, for instance to see whether something I experience is a bug or not. (Especially since I'm on 2.6 already.)

I'm an experienced software developer, but I haven't been able to find any quick and easy guide that simply tells me "you can install this program and run this command to decompile BIF files" or "do this and that to compile a BAF and integrate it into the game."

I found the IESDP, which is an absolutely amazing resource. I also found DLTCEP but it doesn't seem very user friendly and seems to have no user manual. Then there's WeiDU which I guess can be used to extract information from game files, but not sure if that's the best way or if there's another tool I'm missing.

So, is there a straightforward guide or a sort of "rundown" explaining how to play around with IE game files?

Near Infinity and it's snapshots is the program you are searching for.

And the weidu's readme. A baf file is just a .txt file renamed so the weidu can compoile it to a .bcs file... this is all in the IESDP, you just need to read all the pages.

Also, a while ago I was told that one doesn't want to decompile a .bif file for many reasons -none of were given- but you just don't want to. So I'll give the same advice.

Edited by Jarno Mikkola
3 hours ago, Jarno Mikkola said:

Near Infinity and it's snapshots is the program you are searching for.

And the weidu's readme. A baf file is just a .txt file renamed so the weidu can compoile it to a .bcs file... this is all in the IESDP, you just need to read all the pages.

Also, a while ago I was told that one doesn't want to decompile a .bif file for many reasons -none of were given- but you just don't want to. So I'll give the same advice.