Request: A Total Newbie's Guide to Coding Infinity Engine Mods

Endarire

Greetings, all!

Maybe this sort of step-by-step guide with handy screenshots/videos already exists, but if so, I wasn't sure where.  I know the Near Infinity wiki exists, but it doesn't seem newbie-friendly.  It's a reference manual but not a step-by-step guide for these, at least from what I can tell.  These are at least some of the things that are useful for new modders to know and for modders in general to be able to reference quickly.

-Add new items and edit some existing items.

-Change what services and items a vendor has.

-Adding and editing containers on a map and the contents and boundaries of these containers.

-Making and editing NPCs, recruitable and not.

-Adding and editing dialog.

-Adding and editing spells.

-Adding and editing kits.

-Adding and editing creatures' stats/abilities and animations.

-Adding and editing PC paperdoll sprites and animations, like to add new types of equippable items and recolored/retextured versions of existing ones.

-Adding EE & EET support to a mod that doesn't already have one.

-How to determine what game versions a mod is compatible with (BGT, BG2EE, EET 2.5, 2.6, etc.)

-Packaging a mod with a WeiDU installer of a specific version.

-How to find and fix bugs.

-Whatever else you believe is wise for people with NO IE MODDING EXPERIENCE to know that's likely useful to making such mods.

Thankee!

The knowledge for most of your topics is out there, you just have to harvest it. Scan the tutorials' sections at G3, SHS, PPG, and BeamDog's. Read the WeiDU Readme. Take mods that do what you want to do and look how they do it. It's common practice to take other mods as examples, almost every modder started this way.